What is Via Sacra?

Way of the Cross is a concept that alludes to the journey Jesus took from the moment he was captured to his crucifixion and subsequent burial. The term may also be referred to as via crucis, a Latin expression that can be translated as “way to the cross”.

The notion can be used in different ways. On the one hand, there is the specific path that, according to Christians, Jesus walked before his death. Along this journey, several incidents happened: Jesus falls, meets his mother Mary, takes off his clothes, etc. The stations of the cross are also understood to represent the martyrdom of Jesus. In these representations, each of the incidents is referred to as a season. Therefore, according to Christian tradition, the Way of the Cross is made up of fifteen stations, from the first station where Jesus is condemned to death to the last station where he is resurrected. This number, however, has varied throughout history.

Specifically, the aforementioned stations are as follows:

-Jesus condemned to death.

-Jesus carrying the cross.

-Jesus falls, for the first time, under the weight of the cross.

-Meet the Virgin

-The Cyrenean helps the Lord to carry the cross.

-Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

-Second fall on the way of the cross.

N Jesus comforts the daughters of Jerusalem.

-Jesus falls for the third time.

-Jesus stripped of his clothes.

-Jesus nailed to the cross.

-Jesus dies on the cross.

-Jesus in his mother’s arms.

-The corpse of Jesus placed in the tomb.

– Jesus gets up. In addition to all this, we cannot ignore that the Via Crucis is also prayed. Specifically, it is prayed essentially standing and, at specific times, kneeling. The prayer on the Way of the Cross is believed to have originated in Jerusalem. Specifically, it is considered that already in the 4th century, at the time of Emperor Constantine, the goal to be reached by many pilgrims for the accomplishment of the referred stations was established. As for the stations as we know them today, it is not known where their origin is said and there are many doubts about how their journey was. So, for example, although there are many theories in this regard, it is considered that the ideal was to start the journey on Monte Calvário and end it in the Casa de Pilato. In addition to religion, the way of the cross is understood as the suffering that a person goes through, when someone has to overcome various obstacles or barriers, it is said that he had his way of the cross. Suppose a man needs the state to deliver a certain medicine to his son, who is suffering from a serious illness. This individual goes to the Central Public Health Agency, where he is asked to fill out five forms. That done, an officer stamps the forms and tells the man he must take them to the National Laboratory. In this workshop, they ask you to fill in another document and tell them that you will have to pick up the medicine the next day at the Social Protection Institute’s headquarters between 8:00 and 8:30 in the morning. Faced with all these situations, someone could indicate that man lived a cross path to obtain the remedy.

Leave a Comment