What is European Union?

The European Union (EU) is an international political community created on November 1, 1993, with the entry into force of the Treaty on European Union. The process of its creation was very complex and dates back to the end of the Second World War, thanks to the impulse of personalities such as the French Foreign Minister, Robert Schuman.

The union is currently composed of twenty-seven members. It is important to keep in mind that this community does not cover the entire European continent: that is, there are countries in Europe that are not members of the EU, such as Switzerland or Norway. On the other hand, some regions that are not part of the EU’s geographic territory, such as French Guiana or Guadeloupe, are part of the bloc.

There are several symbols that identify and represent the European Union, one of the most important being its flag. This is blue and a circle of twelve golden stars is placed on it. A number that was chosen because it is considered the one that traditionally means unity and perfection. However, we cannot forget that another of the identifying symbols of this organization is its anthem. This is the “Ode to Joy”, a poetic composition that was written by Friedrich von Schiller and later set to music by the great master Beethoven. Its motto (United in diversity) and Europe Day (9 May) are other symbols of the European Union. The EU’s political and legal system is very complex, with mechanisms and regulations that have been modified several times throughout history. Its structure constitutes a kind of supranational government, with seven main institutions: the European Commission, the European Parliament, the European Council, the Council of the EU, the Court of Justice of the EU, the Court of Auditors and the European Central Bank. In addition to the institutions mentioned above, we cannot forget the existence of other equally important bodies within the European Union. This would be the case, for example, with the European Ombudsman, the European Economic and Social Committee, the European Investment Bank or the Committee of the Regions. Most EU member countries share the same currency (the euro) and form what is known as the eurozone. However, members like Great Britain still have their own currency (in this case, the pound sterling). As far as languages ​​are concerned, it should be clear that in the European Union there are 24 official languages. However, it is true that, as a general rule, in certain institutions, such as the European Commission, it is customary to work in languages ​​such as Spanish, English, French and German.

See also  How to tie a tie?

Added to this is the fact that it is the most widespread sport in the European Union, hence there is a competition at that level: the UEFA Champions League. Among the official candidates for EU membership in the coming years are Turkey, Croatia and the Republic of Macedonia.

Leave a Comment