What is a therapeutic class?

Therapeutic classes are used by physicians in selecting treatments for patients.

Therapeutic classes are a way of classifying drugs according to their functions. Each therapeutic class is a group of similar drugs classified together because they are intended to treat the same medical conditions. These classifications are used by physicians and pharmacists when selecting appropriate treatments for patients. Commonly used classes include analgesics, which relieve pain; antibiotics, which kill bacterial infections; and anticonvulsants, which prevent seizures.

Sertraline is also marketed and sold under the brand name Zoloft.

There are many different therapeutic classes. They often have names that describe their intended effects, such as antipsychotics, tranquilizers, and decongestants. A therapeutic class can also be named for its chemical method of action, as is the case with classes such as dopamine receptor antagonists, which inhibit the effects of the neurotransmitter dopamine, preventing it from binding to cells, and beta-antagonists. adrenergics, more popularly known as beta-blockers, which decrease the effects of adrenaline and other stress-related hormones and neurotransmitters.

Some drugs belong to more than one therapeutic class.

Drugs can also be categorized into more than one drug class, according to context. For example, a drug that can be used to treat pain and fever, such as aspirin, can be classified as an analgesic or an antipyretic depending on the purpose of its use.

The most commonly used system of organized therapeutic classes is the Anatomical Therapeutic Chemical Classification System (ATC), maintained by the World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Drug Statistical Methodology. The ATC classifies each drug into a series of categories, starting with a group of 14 categories that organize drugs according to the body system the drug is supposed to affect, such as the nervous system, the immune system, or the respiratory system. Medications are then classified into broad therapeutic groups according to their function, for example analgesics or antipsychotics. The next category indicates the pharmacological or therapeutic subgroup of the drug, while the last two indicate the chemical group of the active ingredient and the specific chemical used, respectively.

See also  How do I reduce incision pain?

Sertraline side effects can include insomnia.

Each category and subcategory is represented by a letter, one or more numbers, or both, giving each drug a designation containing two letters and five numbers. Multiple-use drugs can have multiple alphanumeric codes, one for each use. An example ACT code is N06AB06, which designates the drug sertraline, more commonly known by its trade name Zoloft™. Sertraline is a drug used to affect the nervous system (N) that increases nervous system arousal (N06) and works as an antidepressant (N06A). It has this effect on the nervous system by increasing the amount of serotonin in the extracellular fluid outside the patient’s cell membranes, acting as a selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (N06AB) due to the active ingredient sertraline hydrochloride.

Leave a Comment