What is a memory point?

Memory classification is a type of construction applied to dynamic random access memory (DRAM) chips. As a protocol, all classifications must consist of a 64-bit bus and an 8-bit chip, for a total width of 72 bits. Although the memory rank must be 64 bits wide, the rank can consist of chips of different sizes. The ratings can be single, double, quad, or octal, although most consumer computers only see singles and doubles. Higher ratings, which have more memory, are typically seen on high-end servers and computers.

A stick of RAM, a type of computer memory.

A memory rating is the array of different connected DRAM chips. DRAM is different from regular random access memory (RAM) in that each piece of information is stored in a different capacitor on the chip. This allows DRAM to retrieve information better than RAM. By creating a memory rating system, DRAM is able to store more overall memory while being compact and cost-effective.

Two memory chips.

The JEDEC Solid State Technology Association (JEDEC), formerly known as the Joint Electron Devices Engineering Council, is an independent council that decides on different protocols and standards for computer architecture and construction. The organization decided that the most efficient way to build a memory rating would be by using a 64-bit bus, which refers to the chip size, along with an 8-bit error-correcting code (ECC) chip for a combined width. 72 bit. To be within these standards, the rating cannot be larger or smaller than this width.

While the memory rank width is standard, the chip size does not have to be. For example, one company might do a rating with a single 64-bit chip, but another company might do the rating with eight 8-bit chips, and another company might build a rating with 16 4-bit chips, and all three would be considered one. default memory classification. As long as the total is 64-bit, not including ECC, it fits the default. There may also be different chips per layer; one piece of DRAM may have a 16-bit 4-bit layer, while another layer is made up of eight 8-bit chips. Most companies prefer to use more chips, because that gives the DRAM more processing power and more areas to store data.

See also  What is an App Store?

In 2011, there were four types of classification: single or one layer, double or two layers, quad or four layers and octal or eight layers. The more layers, the more memory the company can put on a chip. Typically, consumers find only single or dual layer memory in their computers, while powerful server computers use both quad and octal layer rated memory chips.

Leave a Comment